DIY: Tinted Lip Balm & Cheek Tint

Front1

Hello lovelies. Today’s blogpost will be a super easy tutorial for making your own tinted lipbalms and cheek tints, with items you most likely have lying around the house! Here’s what you will need:

Ingredients

I don’t know about you but I love a good lip balm, but sometimes they can actually dry out your lips. Sounds crazy right? Well it’s true, with continued use your lips become so dependent on lip balm that they tend to dry out and get chapped very quickly if you skip it a few times. That’s partly due to the chemicals they add to them. Long story short: you need something that will keep your lips moisturized for a long time by hydrating them naturally, and what better ingredient is there than coconut oil? Fact: coconut oil is an antibacterial and antifungal, and it moisturizes your skin while helping it retain water. The best part is, it also makes your lip balm smell so delicious you wanna eat it (oops don’t do that…) AMAZING without adding any scented extracts. I use Nutiva organic virgin coconut oil.

The next ingredient is Vaseline/ petroleum jelly. Coconut oil is great, but it does have a very low melting point (I’m an engineer, sorry not sorry!) so it wouldn’t keep its’ shape in the tube if you stuff it in your purse! Vaseline will help keep it together, and you can also add beeswax pellets to make the tube stronger but I chose to keep it simple.

For empty lip balm tubes, look no further than the little pockets in all your purses, as well as all your coat pockets (seriously though I found 6 of them that way…). Otherwise, you can get these at any container or crafts store. I found some on amazon, they’re super cheap! (example). For the cheek tints, I use my empty face moisturizer containers, but you can also get these on amazon.

And last but not least, for the color I used old/empty lipsticks. You can play around with the colors to get the saturation and tint you want (kinda like picking an Instagram filter 😉). I made four different shades of lip balm and one shade of cheek tint.

Lippies2

I keep the cheek tint on my desk and apply it throughout the day if I feel like I’m looking pale or don’t have blush and a brush handy. I love it because it’s so subtle and gives you a very natural glow while moisturizing your cheeks. I use it as a lip balm too. Here’s the one I made this time around and one I made a few months ago that I just LOVE.

cheektints

 

Directions:

  1. In a heat-safe bowl, add coconut oil and vaseline in a 1:1 ratio. Next, add beeswax pellets (optional). Adding some water to a small pot, bring this to a gentle boil and place the bowl on top. Mix continuously until all ingredients have melted into a homogenous mixture.
  2. Add color by mixing in pieces of lipstick (I scraped them from the containers using a Q-tip). Mix well. Depending on how saturated you want the colors to be, you can add more lipstick. Feel free to mix different shades and colors. For the cheek tint, you want to add a bit more color. This is the fun part, get creative! 🙂
  3. Remove bowl from heat, pour into lip balm tubes (roll all the way down) and/or container. Leave to cool for about 10 minutes or until they look dry. Here’s a couple of examples of colors I made:

Lippies

That’s it! Super easy right? Let me know if you try these out and send me pictures, I would love to see what colors you guys come up with!!

xoxo cinnamonandheels

Instagram: @cinnamonandheels

Twitter: @cinnamonandhee1

Leave a Reply

